Cuddyer hangs ’em up

Mets utility player Michael Cuddyer has announced his retirement through an article on The Player’s Tribune in which he wrote the following:

Baseball is a game of beautiful contradictions. It can be entertainingly fast and painfully slow. You sacrifice your personal and family life for the grind and the glory. Baseball is my life’s passion, but at the same time I knew in some distant part of my heart that it wouldn’t and couldn’t last forever. Ever since I was a kid, my mantra has been, “Play hard, dream big.” But I’ve always believed in loyalty to the game itself: the day that I can’t give it 100 percent is the day I have to walk away. Now that the day has come, it’s harder than I thought it would be.”

Even though Cuddyer played fifteen seasons in the Bigs, his career has always been injury riddled. He was a versatile player that could play on the corners of the infield, in the outfield at all positions. But also in his first year of his two-year contract with the Mets, he was bother by a knee injury that limited him to only 117 games. He batted a modest .259 with an OPS of .699.

In his final four seasons, Cuddyer was on the DL six times with a broken shoulder, a strained oblique, a torn-up knee, a bulging disc in his neck.
This made him miss nearly a complete number of season games if not more. During the 2015 off season, Cuddyer was mostly benched and went 1 for 11.

His decision will leave the Mets with some voids at first base and in the outfield, where they saw a backup role for him.

With this decision, Cuddyer proves to be a player with dignity. He retires because he cannot live up to his standards. I tip my cap to him.

 

Leave a Reply

